My writing: Good On You NZ blog post

My first official writing assignment as a freelancer was published earlier this week. It was a pretty exciting milestone for me, so I think it’s fitting to post about it here.

Following a massive effort on the part of Bec McMaster (also a former Otago Museum employee) and the Good On You team, the Good On You NZ app is set to launch here in New Zealand very soon. If you’re into sustainability and/or fashion, this is the app for you.

Initially launched in Australia, the Kiwi version of the app will provide heaps of information about clothing brands across the country. It’s a great way of finding out more about what we’re putting on our bodies – are the materials ethically sourced; is the manufacturing process environmentally friendly; and plenty more.

A little while back Bec asked me if I’d be interested in writing a piece for the Good On You NZ blog, and I very quickly jumped at the chance. I interviewed Persephone Singfield, the founder of Christchurch-based brand Courage My Love, for the piece.

Along the way I learned a lot about how to test the durability of a fabric, what it means to provide employment opportunities for those who have been in hardship and – pretty usefully – how to record Skype conversations for easy transcription of quotes. (I now use this program.)

I’m grateful to have had this opportunity – a rewarding first step into the freelance world. And I’m looking forward to every opportunity that follows.

Leave a Reply

