Recommendation: writing tips from Almond Press

Lately, I’ve been doing a lot of writing – both non-fiction for freelance assignments and fiction for personal pleasure. I have more time now to dedicate to the latter, and that makes me really happy. For a long time, I didn’t have the energy to write. I missed it, but I didn’t realise just how much until I started again.

At the moment, short stories seem to be where my brain wants to go, which is how I discovered the Almond Press website.

These guys have put together a comprehensive list of creative writing competitions. There are enough details to get you interested – deadline, word count, entry fee – plus links to the competition sites. I think it’s a very useful tool, and I’m stoked to have stumbled across it.

This led me to their list of creative writing journals accepting submissions, another handy collection for folks hoping to publish.

I’m also a fan of their guest blog, which features – among other things – a series of ‘How to Write’ posts, with practical tips and discussions about the nuts and bolts of writing. I particularly enjoyed the You’re Doing It All Wrong post, which was a heartening thing to read after a long time away from the world of fiction.

2 thoughts on “Recommendation: writing tips from Almond Press

  1. Kate Coe (@writingandcoe) says:

    I’m so glad you’re enjoying the series – and that you’re writing again! It’s always a good feeling to get back into writing when you haven’t for a while. If there’s any particular subjects you’d like to see in the How To Write posts, do let me know! ~ Kate

    Like

Leave a Reply

