A brief update, part two

This week there’s a lot to be done for issue 2 of Tauhere, so I’ll keep this short. Not only are journal deadlines edging closer, but it’s only five more sleeps until NaNoWriMo kicks off, and I still have no idea what I’m going to write about this year. I suppose I’ve always bounced between preparedness when writing fiction (outlines, word targets, all that jazzy stuff) and just opening a doc (or notebook), staring down the blankness and seeing what happens.

Which is the most effective method? That I can’t say, and for me it varies all the time. Sometimes I can see from beginning to end of a story, and that’s when the planning is easier. As already established here, I like lists, so bullet-pointing a story outline is pretty satisfying. At the same time, there are those stories that start where they start and throw up zero signposts to where they’re going to end up. (To be honest, as much as I enjoy a good list, I prefer a story that almost seems to write itself. It’s the closest I’ll ever get to being a wizard, Harry.)

So for me, I let the story decide, and I guess that’s what I’ll be doing for NaNo. I’m not even sure I’ll make it to the end this year, what with most likely starting a second part-time gig in mid-November. But even if I don’t, it makes me happy to be excited about writing anything again… whatever the month.

Next week, I’ll be back to something a bit meatier, finally getting around to my top take home messages from the Beverly Serrell book I’ve mentioned in other posts.

Leave a Reply

