NYC Midnight submission complete

Despite some technical glitches at the last minute, and with the help of the competition feedback team, I managed to submit my entry for the first round of the NYC Midnight Short Story Challenge.

The elements I had to include in the story were an only child and a test, and the genre I had to write in was historical fiction.

After a tough start (historical fiction is not my usual wheelhouse), I landed on an idea that, after a couple of extensive re-writes, became a story I was proud to submit.

Judging will go on until around mid-March, and we’ll all find out from there. Every story entered receives feedback from the judges, which I think is the best thing about the competition. So even if I don’t make the next round, it’ll still have been a very valuable exercise.

Plus, all the other competition prompts make for some great personal writing challenge fodder.

Leave a Reply

