What I’m reading #1: non-fiction newbie

My office isn’t set up at the new house yet, so I’m back in my home away from home – Dunedin Public Library – where I’ve spent the day working on draft copy for a freelance job.

dunedin-public-library-e1496029191386.jpg

Outside Dunedin Public Library

This is one my favourite places in Dunedin because, not only does it offer free Wi-Fi and space for me to set up the mobile office, it’s also where the books live.

Now that I’m back to having more time for freelance work, and writing in general, I’ll be spending plenty of time here. This will inevitably lead to more reading, because how can you not when in proximity to so much of the written word.

That gave me an idea for a series of posts going forward. The aim is to share what I’m reading and then, when I’m done, post a review and rec style follow-up.

My choices today were inspired both by my recent binge-watching of RuPaul’s Drag Race on Netflix and by the song 1985, which has been stuck in my head for probably a week now.

They are:

  1. Transgender Warriors: Making History from Joan of Arc to RuPaul – Leslie Feinberg
  2. Stars, Cars and Crystal Meth – Jack Sutherland (as told to John Sutherland)
  3. The Heroin Diaries – Nikki Sixx (with Ian Gittins)
What I'm reading #1

What I’m reading #1

They’re all non-fiction, and two are biographies, which isn’t my usual wheelhouse in terms of genre. I’m looking forward to diving in, though, as another part of this series will be to break from my typical reading patterns (almost exclusively horror, fantasy, and sci fi, with a few classics thrown in).

 

Have you read any of the three books I picked up today? Do you have any suggestions for future reading material?

One thought on “What I’m reading #1: non-fiction newbie

Leave a Reply

